Get a quote
Select Page

2022 Legislation Update – Colorado

Healthy Families and Workplace Act (HFWA) Paid Sick Leave (15 or fewer employees)

The Healthy Families and Workplace Act (HFWA) law applies to all employees actively working in Colorado as of January 1, 2022 (previously applied only to employers with 16 or more employees on January 1, 2021):

Employees earn one hour of paid sick leave (at their regular rate of pay) for every 30 hours worked, capped at 48 hours per year (in both accrual and usage). Accrual begins upon hire, and employers may loan or frontload paid sick leave in advance of accrual. Employees may use paid sick leave for themselves or a family member to:

    • Treat an injury or health condition that prevents them from working.
    • Receive diagnosis or treatment of an illness or injury.
    • Obtain medical care.
    • Abuse victim care or related legal services.
    • Accommodate for a workplace (or school or place-of-care) closure due to a public emergency.

Employers are not required to reimburse employees for their paid sick leave who are separated from employment. If an employer rehires an employee within six months of separation, then their accrued, unused paid sick leave must be reinstated (unless the employee received a payout at separation). Employees who are denied paid sick leave because of a retaliatory personnel action are entitled to recover it from their employer.

HFWA Paid Sick Leave Poster (available 1st week of each December)

Pin It on Pinterest