Get a quote
Select Page

2023

Employers Must Submit UI Info Electronically

Effective July 31, 2023, employers must simultaneously provide a Form BC-10, Claiming Unemployment Benefits to:

  • A worker when they’re temporarily or permanently separated from employment for any reason; and
  • The New Jersey Division of Unemployment Insurance electronically.

New Jersey Expanded Mini-WARN Requirements

Changes to New Jersey’s mini-WARN law, which applies to employers with 100 or more employees, took effect on April 10, 2023. As amended, the state’s mini-WARN notice and severance requirements are triggered when an employer terminates or lays off 50 or more employees working in or reporting to New Jersey over a period of 30 days, or 90 days if the reasons for the terminations/layoffs are related. Here are the highlights of the changes.

Severance

When conditions trigger the mini-WARN law, employers must provide laid off employees with a severance payment equal to one week of pay for each full year of their employment.

If an employer doesn’t provide 90 days’ notice of the layoff, then they must also provide an additional four weeks of pay to each affected employee (essentially a penalty for lack of notice).

Counting Employees

  • For purposes of determining whether the 100-employee coverage threshold is met, all employees are counted, regardless of what state they work in or their full-time or part-time status. Previously, only full-time employees were counted.

For purposes of determining whether the 50-employee layoff threshold is met, employers must count part-time and full-time employees at all worksites in New Jersey as well as those who report in to a location in New Jersey.

HR Services Team
Latest posts by HR Services Team (see all)

    Pin It on Pinterest

    Share This