Beginning January 1, 2024, employers of all sizes are required to provide paid sick and safe leave to employees who work at least 80 hours in a year in Minnesota. We’ll provide a Law Alert with a detailed summary of the law later this year. For now, here are the highlights:
- Employees begin to accrue paid sick and safe leave on January 1, 2024, or their date of hire if it’s later, and will earn one hour of leave for every 30 hours worked.
- Employers can cap sick and safe leave accrual at 48 hours per year. Accrued sick and safe leave carries over from year to year, up to a total cap of 80 hours.
- Sick and safe leave can be used as soon as it is accrued—there’s no waiting period.
- Leave can be used for an employee’s or their family member’s medical needs; for reasons related to domestic abuse, sexual assault, and stalking; when school, work, or a place of care closes due to weather or public emergencies; and for reasons related to preventing the spread of communicable disease.
- Available and used leave must be reflected on employee pay statements.
- Employers must provide employees with notice about their sick and safe leave rights and include a sick and safe leave notice in the employee handbook. The Department of Labor and Industry will provide a model poster by the law’s effective date.
ESST local ordinances are in effect in the cities of Bloomington, Duluth, Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota, and may differ from the state’s ESST requirements. Employers are responsible for following the ESST requirements most favorable to their employees.
- Provide employees with notice of their sick and safe leave rights.
- Update your employee handbook to include a sick and safe leave notice/policy.